ITIL Explained

Joanna ITIL Leave a Comment

ITIL, formally an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a set of detailed practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business.

Starting out

Once you’ve taken the ITIL Foundation, you can then choose to take the ITIL Practitioner certification or look into which ITIL Intermediate certifications to take instead.

ITIL Intermediate options

The Intermediate certifications are divided into two categories,  Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. You must earn 17 credits in order to be able to take the Managing across the Lifecycle certification.

Some learners may wish to concentrate on one set of modules, but you can choose to select modules from both the Service Lifecycle and Service Capability streams in order to combine management and technical knowledge.

It is recommended that you have prior exposure to basic concepts in IT and at least two years’ professional experience working in IT Service Management before undertaking any of the ITIL Intermediary modules.

The Service Lifecycle modules (each worth 3 credits) are:

The Service Capability modules (each worth 4 credits) are:

Getting to be a Master

Once you have earned the 17 credits for ITIL Intermediate, you may then take the Managing across the Lifecycle certification, which on passing, will gain you the ITIL Expert certification. Then after that, you can sit your ITIL Master if you have more than 5 years experience within IT Services.

Sharing is caring

Leave a comment

You must log in or register to post a review.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.