Three “Must Read” Fantasy Book Series

//Three “Must Read” Fantasy Book Series

Three “Must Read” Fantasy Book Series

By | 2016-09-10T08:09:57+01:00 January 17th, 2014|Reading Owls|0 Comments

For starters, I would expect these to be on every die-hard fantasy fan bookshelf who have lost themselves for hours exploring the worlds of these talented authors.

Series I – The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

My first introduction to dwarves, elves, and the wonders of magic. The all time classic must read.

  1. The Fellowship of the Ring
  2. The Two Towers
  3. The Return of the King

Series II – The Riftwar Saga – Raymond E. Feist

The first in the series, Magician, was released in 1982 and celebrated its 20th year by Feist re-releasing the book with an extra 500 pages. Still a fantastic read. Since its release it has spawned a number of trilogies which takes the user through time between both worlds.

  1. Magician
  2. Silverthorn
  3. A Darkness at Sethanon

Series III – Belgariad – David Eddings

Eddings’ first published series where lengthly conversations between the characters was to become a theme for his subsequent series. One for those that believe in fate and destiny.

‘Why me?’ a phrase used in the book by Garion that still makes me chuckle every time. 🙂

  1. Pawn of Prophecy
  2. Queen of Sorcery
  3. Magician’s Gambit
  4. Castle of Wizardry
  5. Enchanter’s End Game

My bookstore

Leave A Comment